JaCVAM Statement on the

In Vitro Skin Corrosion: Reconstructed Human Epidermis (RHE) Test Method

At a meeting held on 11 May 2017 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: Although a positive result in an in vitro skin corrosion test using human skin models such as EpiSkinTM, EpiDermTM, SkinEthicTM, or epiCS[®] is generally considered sufficient for predicting a test chemical to cause skin corrosion under UN GHS Category 1, only skin corrosion tests using EpiSkin are considered sufficient for predicting a test chemical to cause skin corrosion under the UN GHS subcategories. Furthermore, thorough consideration must be given to the applicability domain when using this test.

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 431 In Vitro Skin Corrosion: Reconstructed Human Epidermis (RHE) Test Method together with other materials prepared by the Skin Corrosion Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the In Vitro Skin Corrosion: Reconstructed Human Epidermis (RHE) Test Method as a useful means for assessing skin corrosion potential during safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

- Johnson Commen

Yasuo Ohno Chairperson JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board Akiyoshi Nishikawa Chairperson JaCVAM Steering Committee

A. Mitchen

June 1, 2017

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson

- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Maki Noguchi (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Mitsue Hirota (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Yasunari Kanda (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Tetsuya Kusakabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary