JaCVAM statement on the Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS) assay for photosafety assessment

At a meeting held on 17 December 2015 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: Provided that proper consideration is given to the limits of applicability, the Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS) assay is a useful means of determining the need for additional photosafety assessment, because it does not produce false negatives regarding photochemical reactivity. Guidelines for the photosafety assessment of drugs using the ROS assay were approved in 2014 and are increasingly accepted for regulatory use.

The incorporation of the ROS assay into photosafety assessment strategies can be expected to help reduce the need for 3T3 NRU PT as well as follow-up testing using animals. We look forward its use in a regulatory context for the photosafety assessment of ingredients used in cosmetics and quasi-drugs, agricultural chemicals, and other chemical substances.

This statement was prepared following a review of guidelines for the photosafety assessment of drugs, the ROS Assay Validation Report, and related documentation and using materials prepared by the Phototoxicity Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have acknowledged the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the ROS assay as a means for photosafety assessment in safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

20 January 2016

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson

Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)

Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)

Mr. Yuji Ishii (NIHS)

Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)

Mr. Kazuhiro Kaneko (Japan Chemical Industry Association)

Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)

Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)

Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (NIHS)

Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)

Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)

Ms. Koko Tanigawa (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)

Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)

Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology)

Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)

Term: From 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2016

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Jun Kanno (Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Kenichi Mikami (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kaoru Misawa (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Takatoshi Nakamura (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Section for the Evaluation of Novel Methods, Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary