## JaCVAM statement on revised Test Guideline No. 405: Acute Eye Irritation/Corrosion

At the meeting concerning the above method, held on 21 October 2013 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS), Tokyo, Japan, the members of the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

The Acute Eye Irritation/Corrosion revised by OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) in 2012 is considered to be able to predict eye irritating substances as it always has been in the past by the use of anesthetics.

Following the review of the results of OECD Revised Test Guideline No. 405 and ICCVAM (Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods )Test Method Evaluation Report: Recommendations for Routine Use of Topical Anesthetics, Systemic Analgesics, and Humane Endpoints to Avoid or Minimize Pain and Distress in Ocular Safety Testing, it is concluded that revised Acute Eye Irritation/Corrosion such as rritation testing are clearly beneficial.

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board has been regularly kept informed of the progress of the study, and this endorsement is based on an assessment of various documents, including, in particular, the evaluation report prepared by the JaCVAM ad hoc peer review panel for eye irritation testing.

Takemi Yoshida

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Snihi da

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

a Mil

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

20 January, 2014

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology): Chairperson
- Mr. Norihide Asano (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Tsutomu Ichiki (Japan Chemical Industry Association)\*
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Tsutomu Miki Kurosawa (Japanese Society for Animal Experimentation)
- Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Mitsuteru Masuda (nominee by Chairperson)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (NIHS)
- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by Chairperson)\*
- Mr. Hiroshi Onodera (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Ms. Tomoko Tanita (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)\*
- Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)\*
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)
- Ms. Midori Yoshida (NIHS)
- Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)
- Mr. Kazuto Watanabe (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)

Term: From 1st April 2012 to 31st March 2014 \*: From 1st April 2013 to 31st March 2014 This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Jun Kanno (Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Kenji Kuramochi (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)\*
- Mr. Toshinari Mitsuoka (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazuyuki Saito (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masahiro Sasaki (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Junji Yamamoto (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)\*
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Section for the Evaluation of Novel Methods, Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary

\* Arrival at post day: 1st August 2013