JaCVAM statement on the Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method for assessing ocular irritation

At a meeting held on 3 March 2016 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: The Short Time Exposure (STE) *In Vitro* Test Method is a suitable means for assessing ocular irritation potency in a regulatory context as part of either a top-down approach to screening test chemicals that potentially induce serious eye damage (Category 1) or a bottom-up approach to screening test chemicals that potentially induce neither eye irritation nor serious eye damage and therefore do not require classification (No Category) under the United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS).

This statement was prepared following a review of a validation report prepared by the Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments (JSAAE) and JaCVAM, a peer review report prepared by the Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (ICCVAM) and the National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM), and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 491 "Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method for Identifying i) Chemicals Inducing Serious Eye Damage and ii) Chemicals Not Requiring Classification for Eye Irritation or Serious Eye Damage," as well as other materials prepared by the Ocular Irritation Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method as a useful means for assessing ocular irritation potency during safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

a. Mila

10 March 2016

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Kazuhiro Kaneko (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Ms. Koko Tanigawa (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)
- Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)

Term: From 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2016

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Jun Kanno (Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Kenichi Mikami (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kaoru Misawa (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Takatoshi Nakamura (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary