JaCVAM statement on the Reconstructed human Cornea-like Epithelium Eye Irritation Test Method

At a meeting held on 5 July 2016 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: The Reconstructed human Cornea-like Epithelium (RhCE) test method is a suitable method for assessing ocular irritation potential in a regulatory context as part of a bottom-up approach for identifying chemicals not requiring classification and labelling for eye irritation or serious eye damage (No Category) under the United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (UN GHS).

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline 492 "Reconstructed human Cornea-like Epithelium test method for identifying chemicals not requiring classification and labelling for eye irritation or serious eye damage" as well as a validation report on the RhCE test method prepared by the Ocular Irritation Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the RhCE test method as a useful means for safety assessment by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

6 January 2017

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Kazuhiro Kaneko (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC,NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Ms. Koko Tanigawa (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)
- Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)

Term: From 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2016

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Tetsuya Kusakabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kaoru Misawa (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Takatoshi Nakamura (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary