JaCVAM statement on the RhCE test method, SkinEthic™ HCE EIT

At a meeting held on 21 February 2018 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Kawasaki, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: The Reconstructed human Cornea-like Epithelium Eye Irritation (RhCE) test method, SkinEthic[™] Human Corneal Epithelium (HCE) Eye Irritation Test (EIT) is a suitable method for assessing ocular irritation potential in a regulatory context as part of a bottom-up approach for identifying chemicals not requiring classification and labelling for eye irritation or serious eye damage (No Category) under the United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (UN GHS).

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline 492 "Reconstructed human Cornea-like Epithelium test method for identifying chemicals not requiring classification and labelling for eye irritation or serious eye damage" as well as a validation report on the RhCE test method, SkinEthicTM HCE EIT prepared by the Ocular Irritation Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the RhCE test method, SkinEthicTM HCE EIT as a useful means for safety assessment by regulatory agencies.

law Ohro-

Chairperson JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

a.Nit la

Chairperson JaCVAM Steering Committee

23 March 2018

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences) : Chairperson

Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)*

Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)

Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)

Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)

Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)

Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)

Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)

Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)

Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)

Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)

Ms. Maki Noguchi (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)**

Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)

Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)

Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)

Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Cutaneous Immunology and Allergy)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

*: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2017

**: From 1st April 2017 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Manabu Fuchioka (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Mitsue Hirota (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Yasunari Kanda (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Kouichirou Koike (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Shinichi Watanabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary