JaCVAM statement on the LabCyte CORNEA-MODEL24 Eye Irritation Test for assessing ocular irritation

At a meeting held on 19 February 2019 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Kanagawa, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: We consider the LabCyte CORNEA-MODEL24 Eye Irritation Test to be a useful means of assessing the ocular irritation potential of chemicals, which when used in a bottom-up approach to identifying chemical substances that do not require classification and labelling under UN GHS* is suitable for use in a regulatory context

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 492 "Reconstructed human Cornealike Epithelium (RhCE) test method for identifying chemicals not requiring classification and labelling for eye irritation or serious eye damage" and others to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the LabCyte CORNEA-MODEL24 Eye Irritation Test as a useful means for safety assessment by regulatory agencies.

*UN GHS: United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Yasur Ohner

Yoko Hirabayashi

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

February 19, 2019

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Ms. Maki Noguchi (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency) *
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Cutaneous Immunology and Allergy)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018
*: From 1st April 2017 to 31st March 2018

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Kunifumi Inawaka (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Fumihiro Kubo (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Kenichi Masumura (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS/ Saiseikai Utsunomiya Hospital)
- Mr. Jihei Nishimura (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Cutaneous Immunology and Allergy)

Term: From 1st April 2018 to 31st March 2020

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Manabu Fuchioka (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Osamu Fueki (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Koichi Hiruta (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Koji Ishii (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Yasunari Kanda (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Kitajima (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kouichirou Koike (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Haruhiro Okuda (NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary