JaCVAM statement on the human Cell Line Activation Test (h-CLAT) Skin Sensitization Test Method

At a meeting held on 24 February 2017 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: Although it is possible to classify chemicals that yield positive results using the h-CLAT test method as sensitizers, it is not possible to assess accurately their sensitization strength nor their subcategorization under the United Nations (UN) Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS). The h-CLAT test method is not suitable for predicting skin sensitization potential on its own; in order to make a suitable assessment, the results of h-CLAT testing must be used with a thorough understanding of the properties of each test chemical in combination with other information as part of an integrated approach to testing and assessment (IATA). Furthermore, thorough consideration must be given to the applicability domain when using this test.

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 442E "In Vitro Skin Sensitization: h-CLAT" as well as other documentation prepared by the Skin Sensitization Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee based on the "h-CLAT Validation Study Report" and the "EURL ECVAM Recommendation on the h-CLAT for skin sensitization testing" to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the h-CLAT skin sensitization test method as a useful means for safety assessment by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

Miller to be some

March 21, 2017

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Mitsue Hirota (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Tetsuya Kusakabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary