JaCVAM statement on the Stably transfected Transcriptional Activation Assay to Detect ER mediated activity

At a meeting held on 6 December 2016 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: The Stably transfected Transcriptional Activation Assay to Detect ER mediated activity (ER STTA) is an *in vitro* test method that uses cultured cells to assess the effect of chemical substances on estrogen receptors. A high reliability with regard to positive/negative classification means that the ER STTA is considered equivalent to the BG1 Luc ER antagonist assay as a suitable test method for use in a regulatory context.

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 455 Performance-Based Test Guideline for Stably Transfected Transactivation In Vitro Assays to Detect Estrogen Receptor Agonists and Antagonists as well as of a validation report on the Stably transfected Transcriptional Activation Assay to Detect ER mediated activity, Part A (agonist assay) and Part B (antagonist assay), together with other materials prepared by the Endocrine Disruption Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee, to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay. Based on the above, we propose the Stably transfected Transcriptional Activation Assay to

Detect ER mediated activity as a useful means for assessing ocular irritation potency during safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Keuren Bhirt

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

6 December 2016

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Kazuhiro Kaneko (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Ms. Koko Tanigawa (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)
- Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)

Term: From 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2016

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Tetsuya Kusakabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kaoru Misawa (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Takatoshi Nakamura (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary