JaCVAM statement on the Stably Transfected human Androgen Receptor Transcriptional Activation assay for detection of androgenic agonist and antagonist activity of chemicals using the AR-EcoScreen[™] cell line

At a meeting held on 19 February 2019 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Kanagawa, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: We consider the Stably Transfected human Androgen Receptor Transcriptional Activation assay (AR STTA) for detection of androgenic agonist and antagonist activity of chemicals using the AR-EcoScreenTM cell line to be a useful means of *in vitro* screening, which when used in combination with other test methods for the assessment of anticipated hazardous effects is capable of making a significant contribution to the management of chemical substances.

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 458 "Stably transfected human androgen receptor transcriptional activation assay for detection of androgenic agonist and antagonist activity of chemicals" and others to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the AR STTA test method as a useful means for safety assessment by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

JAMES Office

Chairperson JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

February 19, 2019

Chairperson JaCVAM Steering Committee

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Ms. Maki Noguchi (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency) *
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Cutaneous Immunology and Allergy)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

*: From 1st April 2017 to 31st March 2018

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (NIHS)
- Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Kunifumi Inawaka (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Fumihiro Kubo (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Kenichi Masumura (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS/ Saiseikai Utsunomiya Hospital)
- Mr. Jihei Nishimura (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)

Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Cutaneous Immunology and Allergy)

Term: From 1st April 2018 to 31st March 2020

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Manabu Fuchioka (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Osamu Fueki (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Koichi Hiruta (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Koji Ishii (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Yasunari Kanda (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Satoshi Kitajima (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kouichirou Koike (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Haruhiro Okuda (NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary